.
Children's Cancer Foundation Over 30 years of caring service
Children's Palliative Care Foundation
Children's Palliative Care Foundation

Sunshine Kids

Sunshine Kids

Can Kids Sit through a Medical Examination?

What would medical toys, medical tools, photos, video clips and cloth dolls associate you with? These items may be common enough, but put together, they are important tools used by the child life specialists for preparing young patients to cope with various treatment procedures.

 

When a child falls sick and is hospitalised, a myriad of tests and check-ups such as blood work, X-ray, ultrasound or CT scan inevitably follow. These tests are no big deal to an adult but for a child, they could be intimidating. Take CT scan for example, the child has to lie flat on the bed, motionless, for five to ten minutes; any slight movement would affect the efficacy of the exam. Children do not understand how the exam process works and they don’t know how to cooperate with medical personnel, so they get anxious and afraid.

 

To enable examinations be carried out smoothly, doctors have no choice but to sedate them, so they can be examined in their sleep. Occasionally, the child cannot be sedated and might need a heavier dosage of medication in order to carry out the examination. In this case, it will increase the chance of the child getting sick from any side-effects. One of the functions of the child life specialists, within the paediatrics team, is to help children conquer their fears and anxieties, and boost their confidence so that they may keep calm without the aid of medicine, thus avoiding its potential side-effects.

 

Pre-check-up Preparation and Assessment

The child life specialists use age-specific teaching tools such as toys, puppets, story books, models, medical equipment, etc., to give step-by-step explanations to the child on the examination procedures. During the preparation, the child life specialists also observe the patients’ doubts and concerns on the procedures, and help them choose a method that will best suit their needs. They will also discuss with the medical team to determine if the child is suitable for an examination without sedation. Since parents’ support is critically important to the success of the treatment, the child life specialists always explain to them in great details on the treatment procedures and how they could help to support their child in completing the treatment.

 

The Story of Yan

Yan (pseudonym) is a four-year-old patient suffering from brain cancer. Before he was diagnosed, he had gone through umpteen tests and examinations, big and small, and developed a great fear for medical personnel in general. When the child life specialist first met Yan, he was reticent and resisted to any kind of contact with people. After many encounters, the specialist helped Yan to express his feelings about the treatment and he gradually understood what he had gone through. When it came time for Yan to receive radiotherapy, we focused on the procedure and further explore his anxieties and capabilities in withstanding the treatment. Yan indicated that he didn’t like wearing the head gear because it blocked his vision and coupled with the separation from his parents which made him really scared. Considering his concerns and after a series of assessments, the specialist decided to cut holes around the eyes of the head gear to allow him to see and his mother talked to him through a PA system to calm him down during the treatment. As a result, Yan was able to successfully complete 30 sessions of radiotherapy without any medication.

 

Cooperating and Communicating Closely with Medical Team

For a child patient to undergo examinations without any medication, it requires the concerted effort of a close-knit medical team. This is why the child life specialist always communicates and coordinates with medical personnel prior to the examination. During the treatment, the child life specialists will use the method chosen by the patients to help them cope with the process, accompany them and encourage them to cooperate with the medical staff to complete the examination. In the past few years, child life specialists have been proactive in communicating regularly with various departments such as radiotherapy and anaesthesiology to swap notes and viewpoints, and to further understand their work process so they may achieve the best result in their collaboration.

 

The Advantages of Reducing Sedations for Child Patients during Examinations

During 2016, CCF’s child life specialists supported 33 child patients in five public hospitals, aged 12 years and under, to go through radiotherapy. Out of those, 27 managed to cope with the treatment on their own – a most encouraging result. The youngest of them was only three years old. In the case of United Christian Hospital, in 2016, our child life specialists helped 49 child patients, aged between four and eleven, to do assessment and preparation for their MRI and ultimately 40 of them managed to complete it without sedation. The specialists also assisted 196 child patients, below the age of three, taking ultrasound; of those only 14 children needed sedation. These results show that with the appropriate support, majority of the children can quietly sit through any kind of medical examination.

 

The fact remains that there are many distinctive advantages to the treatment process when the child patient does not require medication for examination. The time for hospitalisation is reduced, which correspondingly reduces the demand on medical resources and the pressure on the medical team. More importantly, this minimises the discomfort that could result from the use of medication on the patient. And, most importantly, when child patients find their own way of coping with difficulties and building their trust in medical personnel, they are much more likely to succeed in dealing with future treatment.

 

CCF Newsletter Vol.52 (Jul 2017)

.
兒童癌病基金 關愛同行逾三十載
兒童紓緩服務基金
兒童紓緩服務基金

陽光小子

陽光小子

孩子可以乖乖坐定定做檢查嗎?

醫療玩具、醫療工具、一張張的相片、短片、布偶公仔等,會令你聯想到甚麼呢? 這些看似平凡不過的東西,湊起來卻是兒童醫療輔導師的重要工具,用作幫助兒童預備應付不同的療程。

                                                            

兒童患病入院,難免要接受各種檢查和治療,例如抽血、X光、超聲波、電腦掃瞄等等。在成人眼中這些很簡單的檢查,孩子也會感到十分恐懼。以電腦掃瞄為例,兒童需要平躺在床上五至十分鐘,稍微的移動也會影響檢查的結果。兒童因為不了解檢查程序,亦不知道如何與醫護人員合作,往往感到害怕和不安。

 

為讓檢查可以順利進行,醫生只好處方「瞓覺藥」給年幼的兒童,好讓他們熟睡後進行檢查。可是亦偶有不能熟睡的兒童,令檢查無法進行。若加重藥量或麻醉,有機會令到病童感到身體不適。基金兒童醫療輔導師在兒科團隊的其中一個功能,就是幫助孩子克服害怕和不安,加強他們的信心,在無須藥物下自行保持安定, 避免用藥的副作用。

 

檢查前預備及評估

兒童醫療輔導師會因應病童的年齡,利用小玩偶、故事書及醫療儀器模型等工具模擬及講解,使病童具體地明白檢查的程序。兒童醫療輔導師亦會在預備的過程中,瞭解病童對檢查的疑問和擔心,因應病童需要,幫助他們挑選自己喜歡的方法去應付;又會與醫療團隊商討,評估病童是否適合在不使用藥物下進行檢查。另外在病童進行治療時,家長的支持尤其重要,因此兒童醫療輔導師會向家長講解整個治療程序,及他們可以如何支援病童完成治療。

 

賢仔的故事

賢仔(化名)是一名四歲患有腦癌的病童。未確診患癌前,他已接受大大小小的檢查,因此對醫護人員普遍產生了恐懼。兒童醫療輔導師初次接觸賢仔時,他表現沉默、抗拒與人接觸。經過多次會面,以醫療遊戲幫助他表達對治療時的感受和想法,讓他慢慢明白自己的經歷。當賢仔要接受放射治療時,我們針對這項治療,進一步探討他的不安和能力。過程中,賢仔表示戴上頭型模具時,阻礙他的視線,加上與父母分開,令他感到害怕。就著他的擔心,放射治療師經評估後,在他的頭模上剪開眼睛的位置。母親亦在治療時以廣播器與他說話,令他安心。結果賢仔在不用服藥的情況下,順利完成三十次放射治療呢!

 

與醫療團隊緊密合作與溝通

病童在不需用藥的情況下進行檢查,實有賴醫護人員的配合。因此,兒童醫療輔導師會於檢查前,先與醫護人員溝通協調。病童進行治療時,陪伴並支援他們以自己選擇的方法去應付,並促進他們與醫護人員合作完成檢查。過去數年,兒童醫療輔導師會主動定期與不同部門,如放射治療部、麻醉科等分享及交流,互相瞭解其工作流程,促進合作。

 

減少病童服用鎮靜劑下接受檢查的好處

2016年,基金的兒童醫療輔導師在五間公立醫院內,合共支援了33位12歲以下的病童接受放射治療,當中27位都能夠自行應付治療,效果相當令人鼓舞。最年幼的一個只有三歲呢!又以聯合醫院為例,綜合2016年的統計,兒童醫療輔導師為49位四至11歲要接受磁力共振掃描的孩子,進行評估和準備,最終有40位能夠無需用藥物而完成檢查;兒童醫療輔導師又協助196位三歲以下的幼童接受超聲波檢查,只有14位孩子最後需要用上鎮靜藥物。結果反映,只要得到適當的協助,大部分孩子都能乖乖坐定定做檢查。

 

事實上,病童在不需服用藥物下檢查,著實於醫療上帶來很多益處。首先,可減少他們留院的時間,從而減輕對醫療的依賴和醫護人員的人手壓力。再者,這亦大大減少病童因服用鎮靜藥物而產生的不適。更重要的是病童找到應付困難的辦法,建立對醫護人員的信任,讓他們於日後的治療路上更有信心!

 

《童心》第五十二期(2017年7月)