.
Children's Cancer Foundation Over 30 years of caring service
Children's Palliative Care Foundation
Children's Palliative Care Foundation

About Us

About Us

Evolution of Child Life

Self Photos / Files - 040219cccplay 001In 1990, we created the first play corner at the paediatric oncology ward at the Prince of Wales Hospital. In 1992, under the guidance of clinical psychologists, we pioneered Hospital Play in the five public hospitals. Through the use of play, we help children cope with changes brought about by childhood cancer.

 

We believe hospital play is a great tool to address the psychological needs of sick children, something that they need to march through their patient journey in a better mentality. In 1997, we sponsored our Hospital Play Coordinator to Johns Hopkins Children’s Hospital, USA for Child Life training, since then our Hospital Play service has adopted the child life professional methodology encompassing training and service standards codified by the Association of Child Life Professionals* of USA. We have also been providing overseas training for our staff to obtain internationally-recognised accreditation to ensure Child Life service is on par globally so that children and their families coping with cancer may receive excellent care and support.

 

Self Photos / Files - ChildLife_Logo

In 2008, the Hong Kong Government pledged to build a Children's Hospital for Hong Kong; many paediatric doctors and nurses attended professional exchanges and trainings at hospitals in the United States and Canada, and many of them were well acquainted with Child Life services. In 2015, we decided that it was an opportune time for our Hospital Play service to adopt the official name, Child Life service. We also renamed our Hospital Play Specialists as Child Life Specialists. The new designation reflects the fact that our Child Life service has been adopting the USA Child Life international code of conducts and methodology in our training and practice and also allows our Child Life team to be globally recognised when exchanging experience and knowledge with international healthcare professionals. This also helps to demonstrate the professionalism of Hong Kong's pediatrics in the Child Life discipline.

 

Self Photos / Files - Play D Self Photos / Files - Child Life 1
Self Photos / Files - Child Life 2 Self Photos / Files - HKCH

 

Milestones of CCF’s Child Life Service

1997 Hospital Play Coordinator was trained as a Child Life Specialist at the Johns Hopkins All Children's Hospital, USA and introduced relevant knowledge, methodology and service standards to the discipline in Hong Kong
2005-2012 Four specialists took part in five separate occasions in the annual general meeting of the Association of Child Life Professionals (ACLP), exchanging ideas and experiences with child life specialists from around the world
2010 CCF's Hospital Play Coordinator passed the accreditation examination and became a Certified Child Life Specialist (CCLS)
2012 In cooperation with the Department of Paediatrics & Adolescent Medicine at United Christian Hospital, CCF launched the Child Life service beyond the cancer ward
2012-13 Three specialists were sent for training in children hospitals in the United States and Canada, which further strengthened the professional standards of CCF's Child Life service
2014 CCF Professional Services Manager was invited to the International Summit on Paediatric Psychosocial Care organised by ACLP to explore the development of the discipline in various countries
2015 Our service was officially renamed as ‘Child Life’
2016 Held the first Child Life Symposium in Hong Kong with two overseas child life experts attending
2017 Developed local child life clinical training programme with the support of ACLP
2018 Held Asia Child Life Symposium, three experts from overseas gave valuable advices to the future development of CCF Child Life Programme in Hong Kong

* Founded in 1982, Association of Child Life Professionals (ACLP, www.childlife.org) of the USA is committed to develop, promote and monitor professional standards in the discipline. It is a strong advocate for exemplary quality in the evidence-based practice of child life service. With around 6,000 members representing over 600 organisations from more than 10 countries, ACLP is actively involved in the development of child life service in different regions of the world.

 

The Way Forward

Self Photos / Files - 02_ChildLife_JCP_0083The work of the child life specialist in Hong Kong is well recognised and supported by medical professionals, patients and parents. However, due to limited resources, training, human resources and infrastructure, its services cannot be made more widely available. Thanks to the support of generous donors and the medical profession, CCF has achieved encouraging results. Its hope is to build on this experience, to continue to promote the development of the Child Life discipline in paediatrics care so that more ailing children may benefit.

 

Currently the training of the child life specialist relies upon overseas universities. CCF’s child life specialists, now with adequate clinical experience, are qualified to provide internship supervision. CCF hopes to further strengthen the localisation of the discipline. One approach is to work with local universities in conducting researches to collect local data so as to transform the service into an evidence-based practice. In tandem CCF wishes to act as the bridge between stakeholders in Hong Kong to bolster the discipline's development towards a standardised complementary specialty of paediatrics.

.
儿童癌病基金 关爱同行逾三十载
儿童纾缓服务基金
儿童纾缓服务基金

关于我们

关于我们

儿童医疗辅导蜕变

Self Photos / Files - 040219cccplay 001儿童癌病基金于1990年在威尔斯亲王医院儿科肿瘤病房设立首个游戏角,由义工定期探访并陪同孩子玩耍。1992年,在当时的临床心理学家带领下,基金在五家公立医院率先推出医院游戏服务,透过游戏帮助癌病儿童应付患病所带来的转变。

 

团队深信医院游戏能够满足病童的心灵的需要,有助孩子以更健康的心态走过治疗的旅程。故此,于1997年,我们的医院游戏统筹在基金资助下前往美国Johns Hopkins Children's Hospital接受儿童医疗辅导师训练(Child Life training)。自此,基金的医院游戏服务引入由美国Association of Child Life Professionals (ACLP)* 订立的专业守则、训练水平及服务标准。同时,基金持续为员工安排海外培训,让员工取得国际认可的专业资格,确保我们的儿童医疗辅导服务达到国际水平,我们服务的癌病儿童及其家人能够获得优质的照顾与支援。

 

Self Photos / Files - ChildLife_Logo

2008年,香港政府落实筹备兴建儿童医院,不少儿科医生、护士纷纷往美、加等地的医院接受培训、交流,对「Child Life」这个服务已不陌生。故此,基金于2015年正式将医院游戏服务改称为「儿童医疗辅导服务」(Child Life),医院游戏师亦改称为「儿童医疗辅导师」。这个新名字更能直接反映基金在此服务范畴一直跟随着美国 Child Life 的国际体系和标准,与国际医疗团体彼此交流时,对基金的Child Life 团队就能有更清晰的理解。新名字同时有助显示香港儿科在儿童医疗辅导服务这范畴的专业水平。

 

Self Photos / Files - Play D Self Photos / Files - Child Life 1
Self Photos / Files - Child Life 2 Self Photos / Files - HKCH

基金儿童医疗辅导服务发展歷程

1997 医院游戏统筹前往美国Johns Hopkins Children’s Hospital接受儿童医疗辅导师训练,引入相关的知识、工作方法和服务标准
2005-2012 四位医院游戏师先后五次参与Association of Child Life Professionals (ACLP) 的周年会议,与来自世界各地的儿童医疗辅导师交流
2010 医院游戏统筹通过认可考试,成为认可儿童医疗辅导师 (CCLS)
2012 与联合医院儿童及青少年科合作,开展癌症病房以外的儿童医疗辅导服务
2012-13 派送三位医院游戏师往美国及加拿大的儿童医院接受培训,不断提升基金儿童医疗辅导工作的专业水平
2014 基金代表获邀出席ACLP举办的国际会议,探讨儿童医疗辅导在世界各地的发展
2015 服务正式改名为「儿童医疗辅导」
2016 主办「2016 年儿童医疗辅导研讨会」,两位美国儿童医疗辅导专家应邀到访
2017 获ACLP 支持,发展本地的儿童医疗辅导专业实习项目
2018 举办第一届「亚洲儿童医疗辅导研讨会」,进一步推动亚洲华语地区相关服务的发展,ACLP派遣三位专家前来考核基金的儿童医疗辅导服务水平

* 美国Association of Child Life Professionals (ACLP, www.childlife.org) 成立于1982年,旨在发展、推广、监管业内的专业水平,提倡高质素、实证为本的儿童医疗辅导服务,近年更积极推动儿童医疗辅导服务于全球不同地区的发展。现已拥有来自全球600 多个机构的近6,000名会员。

 

儿童医疗辅导服务展望

Self Photos / Files - HKCH儿童医疗辅导工作在香港已获得医疗人员、病人及家长的认同与支持,惟碍于资金、培训、人手架构等各种因素而未广泛推行。基金有幸于过去十数年得到善长的支持和医疗团队的配合,取得令人鼓舞的成绩。基金希望凭着这些经验,继续推广儿童医疗辅导在儿科的发展,让更多病童受惠。

 

目前儿童医疗辅导师的课程仍然依赖海外大学提供。基金的儿童医疗辅导师团队已经累积了丰富的临床经验,可以成为合资格的实习导师。未来,基金希望进一步推动此专业本地化的发展。包括伙拍大学进行研究项目,收集本地的数据,支持服务向循证实践(Evidence-based practice)的方向发展。另外,基金期望继续与社会上各持份者交流,推动此服务成为儿科内一个标准化的辅助医疗专业。