.
Children's Cancer Foundation Over 30 years of caring service
Children's Palliative Care Foundation
Children's Palliative Care Foundation

About Us

About Us

Building for the Future

Self Photos / Files - 2-6-0-1

What began as a small operation with one desk and one clerk in a borrowed office has grown beyond our imagination. Since its inception, the Children’s Cancer Foundation has provided services to more than 3,900 children and their families, and indirect assistance through educational programmes and materials to many thousands more. Other than serving cancer patients, we are dedicated to fulfilling our vision in extending our current services to families of young patients suffering from other serious illnesses.

 

In 2003 we began work on an ambitious initiative: a vision to establish a dedicated children’s specialist hospital in Hong Kong that would provide family-centric specialist care for all children. In 2018 our dream came true with the opening of the Hong Kong Children's Hospital.

 

To fill the service gap between the hospitals, schools and the community in serving seriously ill patients, we established the Children’s Palliative Care Foundation (CPCF) in October 2018 with an aim to serve more young patients with life-limiting illnesses other than cancer. An online symposium was held by CPCF in November 2020 to raise awareness on the importance of children’s palliative care and open discussion on talking about life and death with kids and bereaved parents, with over 600 participants.

 

Started off in a play area in Prince of Wales Hospital child cancer ward in 1990, to establishing the Hospital Service in 1997 and renaming to Child Life in 2015, our Child life service has built a solid foundation in Hong Kong. Adopting the methodology and standard of the Association of Child Life Professionals (ACLP), CCF experience has proven that Child Life works well in our healthcare system and its interventions are equally effective in Chinese culture, not only in child cancer patients, but also sick children in different clinical settings. The value of Child Life service is well recognised by different stakeholders in paediatric healthcare. International symposiums were also held in 2016 and 2018 respectively to raise awareness on the importance of Child Life service in paediatric healthcare.

 

Our Community Services and Rehabilitation Centre in Shek Kip Mei established in 2009 was relocated to So UK Estate in 2019 renaming as Community Service Centre.  Serving with our heart for over 31 years, our Community Service team has also expanded to serve adolescent and young adult survivors helping to face challenges brought about by the late effect of their illnesses or treatments. 

 

As we enter our fourth decade of caring service, it is a sobering thought that the number of children and families we serve will continue to increase, and short of a miracle cure, that our mission will never be complete. Your continued support helps us to make a difference in the lives of children and families fighting life-limiting and life-threatening illnesses.

 

Thank you for helping the Children’s Cancer Foundation carry out its mission and continue to bring hope to those who need it most.

.
儿童癌病基金 关爱同行逾三十载
儿童纾缓服务基金
儿童纾缓服务基金

关于我们

关于我们

建设未来

Self Photos / Files - 2-6-0-1

基金创办初期,只是个小机构,办公室是借用的,仅有一张办公桌,聘用一个书记,其后基金会务发展之大,出乎意料。基金创会以来,已为超过3,900个病童及其家庭提供服务,透过教育活动和出版刊物,间接支援的人数以万计。除了致力为癌病儿童服务,我们亦努力实践愿景,不断将现时推行的服务扩展,惠及其他危重病儿童及其家庭。

 

由2003年起,我们策划了一个极具野心的计划──推动建设香港的儿童专科医院,为所有危重病儿童患者提供以家庭为本的专业护理服务。2018年,香港儿童医院终于落成,也实现了我们多年的梦想。

 

为了填补医院、学校和社区在服务危重病者上的罅隙,我们于2018年10月成立了儿童纾缓服务基金,旨在为更多患有癌病以外危重病的儿童提供服务。2020年11月,儿童纾缓服务基金举办了一次大型的网上研讨会,提高大众对儿童纾缓服务的认识,邀请多位讲者探讨如何与孩子和丧亲父母讨论生死议题,参加者共600多位。

 

自1990年在威尔斯亲王医院的儿童癌症病房开始营运,到1997年正式设立医院游戏服务及于2015年正名,我们的儿童医疗辅导服务已在香港奠定了巩固的基础。透过採用美国Association of Child Life Professionals (ACLP) 的服务模式和标准,基金多年的服务经验已足证儿童医疗辅导服务能于医疗系统中有效地运作,对癌病及其他疾病的儿童均带来正面的影响。儿童医疗辅导服务亦获得儿科医疗界別的认可。我们分別在2016年及2018年举行国际研讨会,让大众关注儿童医疗辅导服务在儿科医疗中的重要性。

 

基金于2009年开设的石硖尾暂顾及復康中心于2019年搬迁至苏屋并更名为「社区服务中心」。凭藉服务社区逾31年的热心,基金的社区服务团队亦扩展服务至青少年及年轻康復者,助他们面对疾病及治疗的后遗症。

  

在基金迈进第四个十周年的服务中,我们可以预料病童的数目会不断增加,除非有良方妙药,否则基金的工作永无止境。全靠您的支持,我们才可以改善癌病儿童及其家庭的生活质素。

 

感谢您帮助儿童癌病基金实现理想,继续为有需要的人带来希望。