.
Children's Cancer Foundation Over 30 years of caring service
Children's Palliative Care Foundation
Children's Palliative Care Foundation

Our Services

Our Services

Overview

Diagnosis

A diagnosis of childhood cancer is despairing to the children and their families. They have to cope with emotional distress while struggling in adjusting to a new pattern of life. The Foundation endeavours to provide the best counselling services to those affected. The newly diagnosed patients are referred by the attending doctors to our Child Life Service team, aiming to enhance the psychosocial functioning of the patients and their families, helping them to understand their illnesses and treatment plans and preparing them for the treatment process.

 

New cases are also being referred to our Family Counselling Service team helping the patients and families to have a better understanding of their illnesses and treatments, providing psychosocial and financial support, if needed.

 

Families can also call out hotline for assistance and to find out the services and support that we can provide.  

Treatment

Our child life specialists strive to empower the patients to cope with their illnesses and treatments through play, preparation, relaxation and self-expressive activities. We work closely with the children's families and medical teams to provide a family-oriented support throughout the whole journey.

 

When a child is being diagnosed with cancer, the family life and livelihood could be largely disrupted, and it also affects the mental well-being of the parents and family members. Social workers from our Family Counselling Service team support and assist them in facing the sudden changes and challenges. We also provide financial assistance to families in need such as transportation subsidies, emergency funds, half-way home and rehabilitation bus services, when needed. Through our Drug Sponsorship Programme, we sponsor self-financed drugs that are not under the HA Drug Formulary or the Safety Net for patients from low-income family.

 

We also organise Support Groups for patients with similar diagnoses so that the parents can exchange information

and share experiences for mutual encouragement and support.

Survivorship

Surviving childhood cancer, the road to recovery is long and winding. The late effects may affect children’s learning abilities, appearance, physique and social life, resulting in low confidence and self-esteem. Our professional Community Service team helps to alleviate these impacts through the Survivor Potential Development programme. A series of programmes are also held in our centres and in the community to improve young cancer survivors’ adaptability, cultivate their interests, explore their strengths and potentials, and develop their talents beyond the academic horizon.

 

We also provide Integrated Education & Learning Enhancement Service with customised transitional classes for children to adapt to school life and catch up with the curriculum. It also provides an opportunity for them to re-establish social life to bolster their confidence in returning to their normal schooling.

 

In addition, the CCF Families’ Club organises regular educational and recreational activities to enhance cohesion, resilience and support among families. This also helps us understand and identify the priority concerns of these families.

Life-limiting conditions

Caring for children with life-limiting conditions, the pressures on the families are extreme. Our Children’s Palliative Care Foundation’s professional team led by registered nurses and social workers aim to improve the quality of life of patients and their families, addressing their physical, psychosocial or spiritual needs.

 

When patients are near the end of life, our focus is to help children and their families to live as well and fully as possible through our holistic care. We work closely with healthcare professionals such as doctors and nurses to provide the best possible care for the patients and to ensure their families and carers are well supported throughout that stage and beyond.

Bereavement

The death of a child brings tremendous grief, not only to the parents, but to all members of the family. Some families are not able to function normally due to the loss of a child. Through our Bereavement Care Service, the Foundation intervenes on different aspects to help families move forward. These include assisting families to deal with funerals, providing individual and family-based bereavement counselling, therapeutic groups, etc.

 

The unique experience of a bereaved family can be transformed into motivation to help others. CCF’s Bereavement Club reaches out to these families and organises activities regularly to foster mutual support along their journey of grief.

.
儿童癌病基金 关爱同行逾三十载
儿童纾缓服务基金
儿童纾缓服务基金

我们的服务

我们的服务

概览

确诊

癌病为孩子及家庭带来心理困扰及生活适应上的困难,基金竭诚为患癌儿童及其家人提供最佳辅导。在确诊初期,基金的儿童医疗辅导团队透过主诊医生转介儿童癌病的新个案,协助病童及其家庭认识病情及治疗方案,为治疗作好心理及实际上的准备。

 

医院亦会把新个案转介给基金的家庭辅导服务团队,于病童确诊初期接触其家庭。基金社工透过评估,了解家庭的状况及其在应付孩子患病时所能承受的压力,按需要提供不同的支援服务。

 

基金同时设有电话热缐,聆听和了解病童家庭的需要,让他们认识儿童癌病基金的相关服务及他们可获得的支援。

治疗

治疗期间,基金的儿童医疗辅导师会运用游戏、预习演练、放松练习、自我表达等不同的方法,提升病童应付疾病及治疗的能力。在过程中,我们致力加强与病童家庭及医疗团队之间的沟通合作,实践家庭为本的服务理念。

 

有些家庭因孩子患病,打乱了原有的生计,父母的心理健康亦容易受到影响。基金的家庭辅导服务社工会协助家庭应对困难,提供情绪辅导,也会为有需要的家庭提供各种经济援助,包括交通津贴、紧急生活资助等,并安排疗养屋復康巴士等服务。此外,基金的药物资助亦有助舒缓贫困家庭支付自费药物的庞大压力。

 

在孩子抗癌期间,我们亦会为家长组织同病类的互助小组,让他们可以藉此交流资讯及分享经验,与同路人互相鼓励及扶持。

复康

在顺利完成治疗后,病童及其家庭仍然需要面对漫长而艰辛的康复之路,尤其后遗症会影响孩子的学习能力、外观、体能、社交圈子等,导致他们的自信心及自我价值下降。基金的社区服务专业团队提供康复者潜能发展服务,在中心及社区举办不同的训练及活动,帮助儿童及青少年康复者增强各方面的适应能力、发掘兴趣与专长、发展主流学习以外的其他领域,从而减轻治疗对他们带来的负面影响。

 

基金的综合教育及学习提升服务为康复中的病童提供多项度身订造的教育衔接课程,协助他们赶上学校原有的课程及课业进度,并藉此平台与朋辈相处,重新建立社交生活,加强病童对未来重返校园的信心。

 

此外,家庭会亦会定期举办各种教育及康乐活动,提升家庭的凝聚力及抗逆力,促进家长间彼此维繫及扶持,亦使基金更了解家庭的需要。

危重

遇上孩子不能治癒的情况,家庭需要承受巨大的压力。儿童纾缓服务基金的专业纾缓服务团队由注册护士及社工组成,旨在提升危重病儿童及其家庭的生活质素,在身、心、社、灵方面予以周全服务。

 

在病童生命的最后阶段,我们的疗护目标着重于透过提供全面且适切的照顾,尽力协助孩子和家人活得舒适及满足。基金与医生、护士等医护人员紧密合作,陪伴及支持病童、其家人及其照顾者度过最艰难的时刻,并于病童离世后,继续照顾其家庭及照顾者的需要。

哀伤关顾

孩子逝世为家庭带来莫大的哀痛,不单父母,家庭中的所有成员也受影响,部份家庭也会因为丧孩之痛而无法维持正常的家庭功能。基金提供哀伤关顾服务,透过不同的介入手法,包括陪伴及协助家人处理丧事、个人及家庭的哀伤辅导、心理治疗小组等,帮助家庭走出痛苦的阴霾。

 

丧亲家庭的独特经歷,亦可转化为助人的动力。基金设有缘风会,让丧孩的家庭能组织在一起,定时透过活动互相交流鼓励,让同路人感受到哀伤路上的支持力量。