.
Children's Cancer Foundation Over 30 years of caring service
Children's Palliative Care Foundation
Children's Palliative Care Foundation

Sunshine Kids

Sunshine Kids

My Perspective through Photovoice

These days young people are accustomed to recording and sharing the minutiae of life through the lens of a camera. Scholars are proposing the use of photography, a medium that the vulnerable in society can accept and manipulate, to tease out observations on their predicament and their hopes for the future. This is called Photovoice. In the cancer ward where adults make all the decisions, young people often feel extremely helpless and vulnerable when faced with an army of medical experts. Hence our child life specialists are advocating the use of Photovoice to encourage patients to record on camera their feelings about treatment. This helps put the experience of being sick under the microscope - or through the lens, in fact, so that we may reflect on what has been lost or gained in the process.

 

The plan was conceived in mid-2014 when child life specialists began recruiting participants for the programme. Eventually nine young patients: Benny, Elaine, Kit, Oscar, Sze Sen, Yin, Tears, Ka Mei and Yuet Yuet signed on, took some 160 photographs under the guidance of the specialists, and wrote about their thoughts and feelings in captions and titles of the photos. Whether it's a quick snap-shot of a street scene or an elaborate meal on the dinner table, the specialist said it was clear what the photo represented. To the participant it was a moment of truth.

 

These hundred plus photos were displayed in the Photovoice Exhibition in Youth Square, Chai Wan. The child life specialists hoped that visitors to the exhibition would take time to look at the photos and through them to appreciate the inner worlds of these special young people. At the opening of the exhibition a small event was held for a few of the participants to share their stories behind the photos. Oscar's mother said she deliberately stayed out of the process and left her son alone to do the photography and writing. She didn't see the photographs until the exhibition and was caught unaware that her son would tell such a moving story. Seeing Oscar's photos on the day of the exhibition, she was overwhelmed by emotions and, most of all, filled with pride.

Kit, by participating in Photovoice, hoped to share his thoughts and feelings during treatment, such as the longing for family members to turn up in hospital to keep him company, no matter the time of day, the strength he must muster to endure the pain from injections, the prayers he quietly said when he felt alone and down in the dumps, and the gratitude he felt for his aunt's dedicated care and concern. The joy and pride that emanated from that big smile on his face was unmistakable.

 

Sze Sen is the reticent type; he said he didn't think too much when he took the photographs. He just tried to take down what he saw and then wrote the captions and notes to accompany the photos. As he looked at the photos again in the exhibition, what he had experienced in the past came rushing back to him and he felt it all deep in his heart.

 

We hope more people could truly appreciate the trials experienced by the young cancer patients; they maybe young or even small children, they had to and could overcome the many obstacles in their way. They do not want pity or sympathy, but rather appreciation and acceptance.

 

Here are some of the photos in the exhibition:

 

Self Photos / Files - Benny

"As I step out of the bone marrow room, I feel I have won the battle against cancer and this is a new beginning to a healthy life." Benny

 

Self Photos / Files - Kit

"I have been sick since the age of eight and accumulated ten years of experience in IV cannulation. The trick is to "stay still". As long as I sit still, we're more likely to get the vein in the first try, so it'll hurt less." Elaine

 

Self Photos / Files - Tears

"You are always in a hustle and bustle. Have you ever stopped to take a good look at this world?" Tears

 

Self Photos / Files - Elaine

"I must have a blood test every day. Luckily there is the small tube, which helps eliminate a lot of pain." Kit

 

Self Photos / Files - Kit

"To make sure I don't get cold or burned because of my bald head, I have ten caps. Of course, some of them were just bought for fun!" Oscar

 

Self Photos / Files - Yut

"Just been discharged to go home, it seems such a long time ago that I last saw the streets." Sze Sen

 

Self Photos / Files - Yin

"Seeing the world behind a face mask." Ka Mei

 

Self Photos / Files - Kit

The hand holding mummy refuses to let go each and every time." Yin

 

Self Photos / Files - Kit

"To light up everything in life our happiness blooms." Yuet Yuet

 

CCF Newsletter Vol.49 (Jan 2016)

.
儿童癌病基金 关爱同行逾三十载
儿童纾缓服务基金
儿童纾缓服务基金

阳光小子

阳光小子

我有我角度

以镜头记录生活点滴,已成为时下青少年的习惯。有学者提倡用摄影这一项受助者能驾驭和接受的方式,引领出他们对自身生存环境的洞察力以及对未来的希望,此手法名为Photovoice。在癌症病房这成人主导的环境下,青少年人面对着各式医疗专家,往往感到无力和被动,不容易表达出自己的想法和感受。于是儿童医疗辅导师希望採用Photovoice的手法,鼓励病人以照片记录治疗期间的感想,从而检视患病的体验,思考过程中的得与失。

 

这个计划由2014年中开始构思,由儿童医疗辅导师招募有兴趣的参加者,最终有九位青少年病人参加,包括Benny、Elaine、Kit、Oscar、Sze Sen、Yin、泪、嘉镁及悦悦,在儿童医疗辅导师的协助下拍摄了共160多张照片,并一一为每张照片写下标题及感受。过程中,儿童医疗辅导师知道了每张照片背后,不论只是简单拍下的街景、还是一顿丰盛的晚餐,对参加者而言,都是別具意义的一刻。

 

这百多张照片在柴湾青年广场中「我有我角度」照片展览展出,儿童医疗辅导师希望公众可以藉着展出的照片,一探这九位不平凡青少年人的内心世界。展览开幕当日举行了一个小型分享会,邀请了其中几位参加者道出照片中的小故事,其中Oscar妈妈表示,刻意不干涉儿子的拍摄和书写,她到展览前都沒有看过这批照片,更不知道自己的儿子写下这么感人的故事。照片展出当日看到儿子的作品,她可是百感交集,又欣慰万分!

Kit参与Photovoice是希望与大家分享治疗期间的各种感受和想法,例如日夜引颈等待家人到医院相伴、勇敢面对打针痛楚、孤单失望时为自己祈福、衷心感激姑姐悉心的照顾和关怀。分享会当天他面上流露那份喜悦和成功感,至今仍歷歷在目呢!

 

平日说话不多的Sze Sen表示拍照时沒太多的想法,只是随心拍下当时的景象,再为每张照片写下一句句註释。看到自己的作品公开展览,过往种种的感受又再次泛起在心头呢!

 

我们希望更多人了解病童如何面对癌病带来的挑战,小小年纪也可以克服各种困难。他们期望被明白、接纳多于同情和怜悯。

 

部分展出照片:

 

Self Photos / Files - Benny

踏出骨髓房的这一步,对我来说,是战胜癌魔的一场战斗,也就是健康人生的新开始。– Benny

 

Self Photos / Files - Kit

我八岁开始患病,至今已累积了十年打豆秘诀,就是「坐定定」。只要不动,插中血管机会就很高,也减少刺痛的皮肉之苦。 – Elaine

 

Self Photos / Files - Tears

匆匆忙忙的你们,是否曾停下来,好好地看看这个世界? – 泪

 

Self Photos / Files - Elaine

每日都要抽血化验,好彩有喉仔,减少好多皮肉痛苦。 – Kit

 

Self Photos / Files - Kit

为了不会晒伤和冻伤我的光头,我有多达十顶帽子。当然,也有「贪得意」而购买的帽子。 – Oscar

 

Self Photos / Files - Yut

出院返屋企,好似好耐没见过街啦。 – Sze Sen

 

Self Photos / Files - Yin

口罩后看世界 – 嘉镁

 

Self Photos / Files - Kit

跟妈妈牵着的手,每次都捨不得分开呢! – Yin

 

Self Photos / Files - Kit

点亮生命的一切,绽放我们的喜悦 – 悦

 

《童心》第四十九期(20161月)